Categories
BLOG

dhgate bong review

DHgate Glass Review thread (You must post a review, see first post)

blankrider
Well-Known Member
  • Sep 19, 2014
  • #1
  • This is my attempt to compile the most important information from the cheap bubbler thread which is currently over 420 pages long. For this to work all members who have purchased glass on DHgate must contribute.

    Please include a picture, link, and review of the specific piece you purchased off DHgate. Also please give some feedback about how the transaction went. How long did shipping take? How well was everything packaged? Did they forget anything? If you had a problem did they take care of you?

    Feel free to write a new review or quote old posts, whatever. We just need to get all this glass in a easy to read thread

    FUnhouse
    Well-Known Member
    • Sep 19, 2014
  • #2
  • I am always looking for these !

    blankrider
    Well-Known Member
    • Sep 19, 2014
  • #3
  • I received what I like to call the “igloo rig” today from Alina. It was well packaged and took about ten days, so not bad.

    It has solid build constriction and I like it a lot. It has a 14 unpolished slit showerhead. The perc is not centered in can, it is closer to the joint. It is also a bit crooked, tilting down towards the front. I find that if I tilt it back some while hitting it the perc sits even. I usually do this subconsciously anyways so I guess that is the best direction for it to be crooked. The piece has such a nice low center of gravity it can support my nano with no tipping problems. I really like the angle of the sidecar mouthpiece. My vape is a comfortable distance from my face. And this thing gets a ton of flavor! I also like the 45 degree cut angle dome
    http://www.dhgate.com/store/product/hot-sale-new-design-two-function-concentrate/200326170.html

    I purchased mine while it was on sale for 30% off, so it was only $26.25

    nihil
    Member, Known Well
    • Sep 19, 2014
  • #4
  • Old picture I posted in the other thread:

    GB-189 — GB-187 — D020 size comparison:

    Couldn’t find the link for the 189.
    We all know that the 187 is made of unatainium, so no link.
    The D020: http://www.dhgate.com/store/product/d020-bubbler-hand-blown-glass-vase-perc-water/175832535.html

    I love the sidecar mouthpiece on the GB-189 and the heft of the piece. The perc? Not impressive. I really want to love this piece, but the perc ruins it for me. I will probably gift this one away.

    The GB-187 is perfect in most ways, and by far my favorite piece. The best perc out of all my pieces. Unbelievable bargain in the $45 price range. Not attainable at the moment, but hopefully back in stock soon *cough*for a reasonable price*cough*.

    The infamous D020. Great little piece for the money and the perc performs well. I haven’t used this piece in about a month though, mainly because the percs on the K, W-2, & D models are better for me in my usage.

    Last note: Simple Green or Mean Grean (thanks @Tweak) will remove the logo’s on the GB line (also @ataxian mentioned ZEP, but I’m too stoned to look it up at the moment). I normally clean them with a PBW soak. Vegetable Oil on the GonG facilitates a smooth insertion/extraction of a GonG on all of the above. It also allows you to rotate the GonG while in use if you’re obsessive like me.

    syrupy
    Authorized Buyer
    • Sep 20, 2014
  • #5
  • derpetrie
    astro travellin’
    • Sep 20, 2014
  • #6
  • I really enjoy the YQ-42 I use, it was only about $50 after shipping. Transaction went super well, the shipping was about 10 days.
    http://www.dhgate.com/store/product/yq-42-two-function-glass-water-pipe-with/185864647.html

    Although it came with a glass nail/dome, and a dry herb bowl, I replaced it with a domeless quartz.
    It’s kind of a bitch to put ice in it unless i make my ice cube half sized. Other than that it’s a sturdy rig that never fails to deliver a smooth big rip even for those like me with weaker lungs. I could definitely use a smaller rig that is a little more portable though.

    On a Möbius plane
    • Sep 20, 2014
  • #7
  • I will just post here to say, I have function vids in my signature for most of my pieces.

    Please click through and have a look

    My favourite Chinese piece is the WP010, really nice volume, works with all sorts of water levels and is really comfortable to use.

    I would recommend it or something similar.

    I also have the YQ001 and JH020 on the way so will review them when they arrive in a couple of weeks

    blankrider
    Well-Known Member
    • Sep 20, 2014
  • #8
  • Attention cheap bubbler fans! I just got the frit to turbine in the mail. It is available from sunshine store and it is amazing
    http://www.dhgate.com/store/product/10-quot-fritted-disc-water-pipe-bong-with/199786497.html
    I just got it unwrapped and inspected. It is without flaws and has very solid construction.

    I just did some water testing and this thing is amazing! I have no experience with other frit pieces but this seems to be the perfect grain size. It has great diffusion and little drag.

    I purchased this after being a big fan of the D020-W-2. I thought that the frit might be an improvement over the Honeycomb and it indeed is. So much more functional! Even though this is not a sidecar the bent neck still makes it a very good vape piece. Just not the best view of the turbine action.

    I will get back to you guys after I use it but right now I am saying it is definitely worth ordering

    And for anyone who does not like the male joint, yingmin appears to have the same exact piece with a female joint.
    http://www.dhgate.com/store/product/new-glass-bong-glass-smoking-pipe-with-frit/202372205.html

    Delta3DStudios
    Well-Known Member
    • Sep 20, 2014
  • #9
  • Just some feedback for posterity sake

    Store Review – SunshineStore (DhGate vendor)

    I have done 4 transactions with Sunshine store. Shipping on average is 7 days (I usually order on Thursdays). First 3 transactions were flawless, the build quality on all the pieces (D020, D020-w, Blue D020–2-w, Female-Female adapters) were awesome. Shipping is bomb-proof covered in a thick multi-layer large bubble wrap, with a nasty yellowish small bubble wrap around the piece. It’s clear the pieces are made at a factory and wrapped in bubble wrap, and most likely, never unwrapped again before being shipped the customer, so you are taking a chance.

    Only had one problem with a recent transaction for a 14mm Ash-Catcher. It arrived DOA – the paper thin glass on that particular piece broke the male GonG joint before I even opened the bubble wrap! I quickly messaged them to report a problem. He gave me his gmail address and asked that I email him pictures. Within 24 hours he sent me instructions to request refund on DHgate system which I did. I was refunded the full purchase price of the Ash Catcher (Price plus shipping).

    I am very satisfied with my 4 transactions and intend to buy more from them. Please note I have inquired about combined shipping and was flatly told no, they don’t combine shipping because the price won’t change.

    blankrider
    Well-Known Member
    • Sep 20, 2014
  • #10
  • GB-225 from yingmin. A good frit piece for a good price. Really smooth just don’t inhale too hard on the clear. I think that I also get more froth because I use cranberry extract. Normal water at disc level you get no water creeping up the neck

    Old post:
    I received my GB-225 from yingmin today. It was not in a box, just a shit load of bubble wrap and tape. It seemed very safe even though the lack of box.

    It appears to be the same build construction as the D020-2S I purchased through sunshine store. Same dimensions and frit grain size, just shorter can due to the lack of turbine. Very well made. I think that I like this more than the version with turbine, but you have to remember to be kind of gentle on the clear if you don’t want a drink.

    In the link yingmin pictures both clear and blue model, there might also be a green available idk. I requested blue in the comment line and received blue so I assume that he read it.
    http://www.dhgate.com/store/product/new-glass-bong-oil-rig-glass-smoking-pipe/202370239.html

    flickyourbic
    Well-Known Member
    • Sep 20, 2014
  • #11
  • I am very pleased with the D020. I honestly cannot find a negative thing to say about it. Build quality is solid, perc works very nice and stacks very well and easy to clean even though I haven’t needed to yet. The curved mouthpiece makes using it very comfortable to use and prevents the nail from radiating its heat onto your face. I’ve only dabbed with it but it works very well for concentrates, not too much diffusion.

    blankrider
    Well-Known Member
    • Sep 20, 2014
  • #12
  • So this post is a double review. These two pieces are from different sellers but the same manufacture. It is a honeycomb to turbine sidecar. The GB-228 is from yingmin and has a female joint. The D020-W-2 is from sunshine store and has a male joint. They are equally awesome.

    Old post:
    The D020-2-w is such a great vape piece!

    normally I would have to be at work two and a half hours ago but lucky it is a holiday and I am at home enjoying an epic wake and vake session.

    This piece is designed perfectly. It is seriously impossible to get any splash because the turbine not only is a great splash guard but spins the opposite direction than the mouthpiece. It is just brilliant.

    The size is perfect. The diffusion is fantastic. I keep the water level ever so slightly above the honeycomb. When I take a hit it actually works at both discs. The honeycomb being the main perc but also bubbles some in the turbine. When you clear it with a fast pull it creates a pretty decent turbine action.

    I had a female gong made for it because I am sick of adapters. I think if this piece had a female joint you guys would be ordering it like crazy. I just can’t say how happy I am with it!

    Ladies and gentlemen I would like to introduce the cheap bubbler champ. The yingmin GB-228 honeycomb to turbine sidecar. I purchased it when it was accidently priced at $22.50 but it actually sells for $29.55 and I believe that it has the potential to dethrone the original D020 as best cheap vape bubbler.

    It has the much sought after sidecar mouthpiece. It has 18mm female joint. It has good flavor and ample diffusion. The turbine disc is a wonderful splash guard. It is very well made and can support my nano without tipping over. All this for under $30 shipped.

    Pictured next to sunshine store model with blue base and lip for comparison. The D020 killer

    nihil
    Member, Known Well
    • Sep 20, 2014
  • #13
  • This helped some people a few months ago. Navigating DHGate is a pain at first and their search engine is lacking, so I favorite the sellers that work for me (I haven’t expanded much).

    Great posts @blankrider, thanks! Any thoughts on copy/pasting them instead of as a reply? The text and images are smaller and I’m used to skimming over quoted reply’s as typically I’ve already read them.

    /i hope that makes sense, i’m vaked out of my mind at the moment

    blankrider
    Well-Known Member
    • Sep 20, 2014
  • #14
  • Good suggestion @nihil I will try that from now on

    OK cheap glass fans I got the first negative review on here. DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE.

    It has very nice construction but does not function well at all.

    Old post:
    I just got home from work and am excited to announce the arrival of a new Kathy piece. I don’t know if this one has a name or number but here is the link
    http://www.dhgate.com/store/product/two-function-blue-color-glass-bongs-water/199022739.html

    First off I would like to say that this was the least damaged of any of my orders from China. My last couple from sunshine store looked like they had been stomped on. This package had ZERO damage and when I opened it I was shocked at how skillfully it was bubble wrapped. Like you know the amazing way they roll your burrito at Chipotle, it was like that.

    The piece seems very nice and I cannot find any flaws. The color lip and base are classy and happen to match a cobalt blue gong. I had made by @VaPeD&CoNfUsEd . The percs are centered and not crooked. The slits are nice. The joint support is solid. The neck is slender with the perfect flared out mouthpiece. Just really a nice piece all around.

    I just did water test with it and it did not go as good as I was hoping. I feel like the percs function to well for its small size. The water from the bottom chamber makes its way to the top chamber and can even climb the neck.

    It’s like this thing has the perc power of the 187 and you can’t put that kind of diffusion in such a small space.

    If they kept everything the same but made the piece twice as big it would be an all star on this thread but sadly I fear that most people will not be happy with it when they try to use it

    DieHard
    Accessory supplier
    • Sep 22, 2014
  • #15
  • Order date: 9/4/14
    Received: 9/22/14

    Ordered 2 items on this date and got the invalid tracking number run-around for a minute. They told me the China Post lost it. Then they told me they “forgot”. Sorry. Then they told me they would send a “big gift” for not filing a dispute. Still one more package on the way.

    Ok, review of the piece. The straight-sided dome shown in their picture is useless. The top of mine is flush with the top of the nail. Looks like an inverted Domeless.
    The function is very smooth. The perc has 6 slits and is welded to the bottom of the can. Works well with my Banger. Nice wide base, low center of gravity. I would definitely recommend this one especially for the price.

    snackmaster
    Well-Known Member
    • Sep 24, 2014
  • #16
  • Dhgate pieces I’ve owned so far: D020 and D020-T (sunshinestore), GB-187 (yingmin5), ratchet recycler and baby cake (Kathy)

    The only one of those I’ve still got is the 187. Just a super solid, nice piece that functions amazingly. I hope to have it for a long time. D020 was also great, but I didn’t feel the need to hang onto it after getting the 187. D020-T and ratchet were fine, but I would not purchase again. Baby cake I never really used (only got it to get my cart above $50 during that $10 coupon promo, sold quickly after receiving), but would absolutely purchase again if I ever got my hands on concentrates.

    Shipping from sunshine and yingmin were pretty quick and without issues. My Kathy order took a long time (went through the whole fake tracking number thing).

    Previous review posts with pics/vids:

    My 187 is here!! May post some pics later, but I dunno if they’ll add much to what’s already been posted (edit: pics below)

    The good:

    • Came without a logo just like I asked
    • Can volume is a nice step up from the D020
    • Perc is straight and all slits appear to fire evenly
    • Weld between can and mouthpiece is clean
    • As has been reported before, the joint is slightly recessed; however, my 14/18 adapter fits in it just fine, so no big deal

    The less than good:

    • Some tooling marks toward the top of the can
    • Bottom of the can is slightly thicker on one side than the other (same goes for the base)
    • Mouthpiece is slightly, although visibly, tilted (to the right if you were taking a hit)
    • Weld between joint and can is mostly clean, but there’s one or two small bubbles/imperfections (same goes for the weld between the bottom of the perc and the can)

    All of the “less than good” issues listed above are pretty insignificant – nothing that should deter any future purchases. It’s a sturdy functional piece, and you’ve gotta inspect it pretty closely to really notice the “flaws.” Overall I am VERY pleased and it’s well worth $46.

    D020-T arrived today!

    Aside from a rough spot and a couple tooling marks on the top of the can it appears to be the cleanest China piece I’ve received. I bought it mainly because I was looking for something with this form factor, a female joint, and no colored glass (just not my thing). Reiterating what @cybrguy said, volume-wise it’s nearly identical to the D020. However, it’s doesn’t have the heft of the D020 (edit – after picking them both up again there isn’t really a weight diff, but the D020 still feels more solid), the joint isn’t particularly thick, and it hits much “chuggier.” Overall not a bad pick-up, but I see the D020 and 187 getting more action in the future.

    Slo mo water test w/ empty nano:

    Also got my Kathy recycler today. Pretty solid and no obvious flaws. Ideal water level for me seems to be right between the perc and the bottom of the joint. It actually recycles and kinda vortexes when clearing, neither of which I really expected when I ordered it. The pull is pretty effortful (not sure if that’s characteristic of recyclers in general, or if it’s just this particular piece?) and I occasionally get some splash on my lips when clearing. Overall, not bad for the price.

    Water test with nano in place and then clear:

    pakalolo
    Toolbag v1.1 (candidate)
    • Sep 26, 2014
  • #17
  • I just deleted several posts and moved a bunch of other to the Cheap Bubbler thread. I left a couple of non-review posts that provided information helpful to the thread.

    Please read the OP and follow the thread requirements. Thanks for your cooperation.

    dandan321
    Member
    • Sep 26, 2014
  • #18
  • Can you change the title as well to something like DHgate Glass Review Thread, otherwise it just sounds like we made a new thread for convenience sake

    mod note: Excellent point, done!

    FUnhouse
    Well-Known Member
    • Sep 27, 2014
  • #19
  • So this post is a double review. These two pieces are from different sellers but the same manufacture. It is a honeycomb to turbine sidecar. The GB-228 is from yingmin and has a female joint. The D020-W-2 is from sunshine store and has a male joint. They are equally awesome.

    Old post:
    The D020-2-w is such a great vape piece!

    normally I would have to be at work two and a half hours ago but lucky it is a holiday and I am at home enjoying an epic wake and vake session.

    This piece is designed perfectly. It is seriously impossible to get any splash because the turbine not only is a great splash guard but spins the opposite direction than the mouthpiece. It is just brilliant.

    The size is perfect. The diffusion is fantastic. I keep the water level ever so slightly above the honeycomb. When I take a hit it actually works at both discs. The honeycomb being the main perc but also bubbles some in the turbine. When you clear it with a fast pull it creates a pretty decent turbine action.

    I had a female gong made for it because I am sick of adapters. I think if this piece had a female joint you guys would be ordering it like crazy. I just can’t say how happy I am with it!

    Ladies and gentlemen I would like to introduce the cheap bubbler champ. The yingmin GB-228 honeycomb to turbine sidecar. I purchased it when it was accidently priced at $22.50 but it actually sells for $29.55 and I believe that it has the potential to dethrone the original D020 as best cheap vape bubbler.

    It has the much sought after sidecar mouthpiece. It has 18mm female joint. It has good flavor and ample diffusion. The turbine disc is a wonderful splash guard. It is very well made and can support my nano without tipping over. All this for under $30 shipped.

    Pictured next to sunshine store model with blue base and lip for comparison. The D020 killer

    Instead of making a new post I am adding to this .
    I just received The D020-w-2 Clear for Sunshinestore
    I ordered it on 9/21 so 6 days China to Los Angeles !

    It came in SSS usual bomb proof packaging .
    I asked them to include the 18-18mm female adapter so I could use my solo with the male GonG, and no dome and nail since I don’t dab .

    Out of the package everything looks great ,no scratches of flaws
    very comfortable in my hand and good quality . This is my second SSS piece and I would definitely buy more from them .

    I agree with @blankrider’s review above and have just run a few hits with my new nano through it and I love it I had the D020-d which was a nice piece but for me the sidecar is so much better .

    Much Thanks to @blankrider for the reviews and advice on this one !

    Photo courtesy of my wife and the table she bought just for this purpose.

    DJ Colonel Corn
    The Vapor Ninja
    • Oct 1, 2014
  • #20
  • jambandphan03
    in flavor country
    • Oct 1, 2014
  • #21
  • I have made several purchases through DHgate and found it to be a very good experience, even when something was wrong, I was able to dispute the matter. I have purchased through Kathy, Sunshine Store, cleanclearglass and Yingmin5. Sunshine Store seems to be the most reliable so far in my experience, fast shipping, decent quality glass. I have had a few pieces come from Kathy with functional flaws, pin holes in the weld (sealed with aquarium silicone), a bad male joint that won’t make a good seal, which I was able to get a partial refund for which is fine considering it cost so little in the first place, so I have less faith in Kathy’s quality control if there is any. Only ordered one piece from Yingmin5 (187 no logo) and it was exactly what I expected, decent quality and function. I got the wigwag inline from cleanclearglass and it was a smooth transaction, and I am pleased with the quality/function. So far, over all I’ve had grate experiences with DHgate orders and have been impressed at how well this glass seems to be holding up so far. I try to be careful, and have a couple of knock around pieces that seem to be taking it quite well. Shipping times vary, I’ve waited as little as a5 or 6 days, to a few weeks, but Sunshine Store has been tops on fast shipping. All seem to ship heavily bubble wrapped.

    As far as favorites go, D022, the larger 14mm Kathy recycler, and that worked up wigwag inline would be my top pics, I do love the 10mm mini rigs, and the D020 line in general all perform well IMO. I rotate around as needs change or boredom sets in.

    *For these prices, don’t expect top quality by any means. You are not likely to see fire polished percs, and may have some minor scratch/cracks and sloppy welds/alignment etc. I have found my pieces to be more than functional, for the cost, even if they have “flaws” that some might take issue with. Keep this in mind when buying low priced glass. *

    This is my attempt to compile the most important information from the cheap bubbler thread which is currently over 420 pages long. For this to work all…